3.—Duration and Sessions of Dominion Parliaments, 1867-1929—concluded.

Number of Parliament.	Session.	Date of Opening.	Date of Prorogation.	Days of session.	Elections, writs returnable, dissolutions and lengths of Parliaments.10
8th Parliament	lst 2nd 3rd 4th	Aug. 19, 1896 Mar. 25, 1897 Feb. 3, 1898 Mar. 16, 1899	Oct. 5, 1896 June 29, 1897 June 13, 1898 Aug. 11, 1899	48 97 131 149	June 23, 1896.3 July 13, 1896.4 (Oct. 9, 1900.5
9th Parliament	5th 1st 2nd 3rd	Feb. 1, 1900 Feb. 6, 1901 Feb. 13, 1902 Mar. 12, 1903	July 18, 1900 May 23, 1901 May 15, 1902 Oct. 24, 1903	168 107 90 227	4 y., 2 m., 26 d. <sup>5</sup>   Nov. 7, 1900. <sup>3</sup>   Dec. 5, 1900. <sup>4</sup>   Sept. 29, 1904. <sup>5</sup>
10th Parliament	4th 1st 2nd 3rd 4th	Mar. 10, 1904 Jan. 11, 1905 Mar. 8, 1906 Nov. 22, 1906 Nov. 28, 1907	Aug. 10, 1904 July 20, 1905 July 13, 1906 April 27, 1907 July 20, 1908	154 191 128 157 236	3 y., 9 m., 26 d. <sup>6</sup> Nov. 3, 1904. <sup>3</sup> Dec. 15, 1904. <sup>4</sup> Sept. 17, 1908. <sup>5</sup> 3 y., 9 m., 4 d. <sup>6</sup>
11th Parliament	lst 2nd 3rd lst	Jan. 20, 1909 Nov. 11, 1909 Nov. 17, 1910 Nov. 15, 1911	May 19, 1909 May 4, 1910 July 29, 1911 April 1, 1912	120 175 196 <sup>1</sup> 139	Oct. 26, 1908. <sup>3</sup> Dec. 3, 1908. <sup>4</sup> July 29, 1911. <sup>5</sup> 2 y., 7 m., 28 d. <sup>5</sup>
12th Parliament	2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th	Nov. 21, 1912 Jan. 15, 1914 Aug. 18, 1914 Feb. 4, 1915 Jan. 12, 1916	June 6, 1913 June 12, 1914 Aug. 22, 1914 April 15, 1915 May 18, 1916	173° 148 5 71 127	Sept. 21, 1911.3 Oct. 7, 1911.4 Oct. 6, 1917.5 6 y., 0 m., 0 d.6
13th Parliament	7th   1st   2nd   3rd   4th   5th	Jan. 18, 1917 Mar. 18, 1918 Feb. 20, 1919 Sept. 1, 1919 Feb. 26, 1920 Feb. 14, 1921	Sept. 20, 1917 May 24, 1918 July 7, 1919 Nov. 10, 1919 July 1, 1920 June 4, 1921	207 <sup>7</sup> 68 138 71 127 111	Dec. 17, 1917.3 Feb. 27, 1918.4 Oct. 4, 1921.5 3 y., 7 m., 6 d.6
14th Parliament	ist 2nd 3rd 4th	Mar. 8, 1922 Jan. 31, 1923 Feb. 28, 1924 Feb. 5, 1925	June 28, 1922 June 30, 1928 July 19, 1924 June 27, 1925	113 151 143 143	Dec. 6, 1921.8  Jan. 14, 1922.*  Sept. 5, 1925.6  3 y., 7 m., 26 d.*
15th Parliament	lst	Jan. 7, 1926	July 2, 1926	1778	Oct. 29, 1925.* Dec. 7, 1925.* July 2, 1926.*
16th Parliament	1st 2nd 3rd	Dec. 9, 1926 Jan. 26, 1928 Feb. 7, 1979	April 14, 1927 June 11, 1928	73° 138	Sept. 14, 1926.*   Nov. 2, 1926.*

"Not including days (59) of adjournment from May 18 to July 18. \*Not including days (25) of adjournment from Dec. 18, 1912, to Jan. 14, 1913. \*Period of general elections. \*Writs returnable. \*Dissolution of Parliament. \*Duration of Parliament in years, months and days. The life of a Parliament is counted from the date of return of election writs to the date of dissolution, both days inclusive. \*Not including days (39) of adjournment from Feb. 7 to April 19, 1917. \*Including days (13) of adjournment from Mar. 3 to Mar. 15. \*Not including days (54) of adjournment from Dec. 15 to Feb. 8. \*\*The ordinary legal limit of duration for each Parliament is five years.

A brief résumé of the history of parliamentary representation follows. Attention may be drawn to the growth in the number of members of both the Senate and the House of Commons since Confederation and to the greatly increased unit of representation in the Lower House.

## Subsection 3.—The Senate.

The British North America Act, 1867, provides in sections 21 and 22 that "the Senate shall consist of seventy-two members, who shall be styled Senators. In relation to the constitution of the Senate, Canada shall be deemed to consist of three Divisions,—(1) Ontario; (2) Quebec; (3) The Maritime Provinces, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick; which three divisions shall be equally represented in the Senate as follows:—Ontario by twenty-four Senators; Quebec by twenty-four Senators; and the Maritime Provinces by twenty-four Senators, twelve thereof representing New Brunswick and twelve thereof representing Nova Scotia. In the